skip navigation

Jaguar Alumni - Success Beyond The Mound

Congratulations to our alumni. The players below are former Jaguar standouts who have continued their athletic pursuits beyond The Mound! See where they have gone to play professional or collegate baseball.

Former Jaguar Players in the MLB Draft

Player Senior Year Year Drafted Round Team
Craig Italiano 2005 2005 2nd Oakland A's
Paul Kelly 2005 2005 2nd Minnesota Twins
Barret Bruce 2006 2006 28th New York Yankees
Eric Taylor 2003 2006 30th Houston Astros
Jordan Meaker 2005 2008 20th Arizona D'Backs
Bobby Doran 2007 2010 4th Houston Astros
Brett Bruening 2007 2010 42nd Chicago White Sox
Zach Neal 2007 2010 17th Florida Marlins
Shane Henderson 2010 2010 20th Los Angeles Dodgers
Zak Adams 2010 2010 15th Toronto Blue Jays
Brandon Parent 2008 2011 30th Chicago White Sox
Tant Shepherd 2007 2011 24th New York Mets
Nick Popescu 2007 2011 33rd Atlanta Braves
Cody Gunter 2012 2013 6th Washington Nationals
Andrew Vinson 2012 2016 10th Los Angeles Angels
Steven Bruce 2010 2016 Free Agent Contract Texas Rangers
Kyle Johnston 2014 2017 6th Washington Nationals

NCAA Division 1 Players

Player College Sr. Year
Eric Taylor NC State/UCLA 2003
Kevin Peranton Texas Christian University 2003
Greg McCarthy Dallas Baptist University 2004
Jordan Meaker Dallas Baptist University 2005
Brandon Gavigilio Oklahoma State University/Navarro JC/Texas State 2005
Ryan Millard Dallas Baptist University 2006
Nick Popescu Texas Tech University 2007
Bobby Doran Texas Tech University 2007
Brett Bruening Texas Tech University 2007
Jamie Pharr Texas Christian University 2007
Zach Neal Oklahoma University 2007
Tant Shepherd University of Texas 2007
Ryan Akins Prarie View A&M 2008
Brandon Parent Texas A&M 2008
Logan Brunkenhoefer Oklahoma State University 2009
Chase Duran Dallas Baptist University 2009
Max Lamantia Stephen F. Austin University 2009
Zak Adams Tulane University 2010
Steven Bruce Oklahoma University 2010
Chase Simpson Oklahoma University 2010
Brad Chesshir Oklahoma State University 2011
Wes Jones Oklahoma State University 2011
Mark McCants Army 2011
Andrew Vinson Texas A&M 2012
Mackay Jacobsen Brigham Young University 2013
Taran Kilian University of Central Arkansas 2013
Jett Meenach U.S. Naval Academy 2013
Austin Musacchio Stephen F. Austin University 2013
Andrew Piccin George Washington University 2013
Mitch Andrews Sam Houston State University 2014
Kyle Johnston University of Texas 2014
Seth Jordan West Virginia University 2014
Tim Millard Dallas Baptist University 2014
BJ Myers West Virginia University 2014
Connor Wanhanen Texas Christian University 2014
Deron Arnold Stephen F. Austin University 2015
Jameson Hannah Dallas Baptist University 2015
Noah Hill Brigham Young University 2015
Casey Jacobsen Brigham Young University 2015
Sean Wymer Texas Christian University 2015
Zachary Egers Old Dominion University 2016
Caleb Kilian Texas Tech University 2016
Parker Scott Oklahoma State University 2016
Hayden Houser San Jose State University 2017
Zach Mesa Kansas State University 2017
Ryan Stuempfig Wichita State University 2017

College and University Signees

Player College Sr. Year
Kurry Short Collin County/Richland College 2002
Robert Garen Tyler JC/UT Tyler 2002
Jason Niswonger Collin County/Northlake CC 2002
Anthony Scott Collin County CC 2002
David House Lon Morris JC 2003
Kyle Richardson Lon Morris JC 2003
Robert Mummey Cedar Valley CC 2003
Aaron Ammerman Lon Morris JC/Northlake CC 2003
Will Ammerman Lon Morris JC/Northlake CC 2003
Michael Rakes Northlake CC 2003
Dustin Adams University of Tampa 2004
CL Gluck Eastfield CC 2004
David King Eastfield CC 2004
Thomas Sawyer Weatherford CC 2004
Justin Rackley Weatherford CC 2004
Reed LeSueur Utah Valley State 2004
Jason Grace Seminole Junior College 2004
Bobby Jones Hill Junior College 2004
Barrett Bruce Emory and Riddle University 2006
Jeff Miller University of Texas at Dallas 2006
Kevin Young Howard Payne University 2007
Devin Avery Ranger Junior College 2008
Ty Wheeler Howard Junior College 2009
Noah Ringenberger Tarleton State University 2009
Rob Thomas Howard Junior College 2009
Heath Steele Oklahoma Christian University 2009
Chris Asing Howard Junior College 2009
Baskin Betsworth Ft. Scott Community College 2010
Cody McNeece Ft. Scott Community College 2010
Ryan Popescu Iowa Western College 2010
Shane Henderson Grayson Junior College 2010
Evan Robinson Tarleton State University 2011
Carver Rademacher Southern Arkansas University 2011
Gavin Burke Clarendon Junnior College 2011
Connor Griffith McMurray University 2011
Cody Gunter Grayson CC 2012
Jack Moffit Navarro Junior College 2012
Scott Popescu Midland Junior College 2012
John T. Kresta Tarleton State University 2012
Kyle St. Pierre LSU Eunice JC 2012
Michael Wymer MIT 2012
Austin McDaniel Paris Junior College 2013
Tyler Pohl Paris Junior College 2013
Stefan Szymankiewicz Hill Junior College 2014
Ryan Sloma Brookhaven College 2014
Thomas Jeffries Paris Junior College 2015
Chad Paris Howard / Paris JC 2015
Collin Frondorf Hutchinson College, KS 2015
Skyler Cox McLennan CC 2016
Nick Thornquist McLennan CC 2016
Jonathan Smithey NE State Oklahoma 2016
Derek Wells Cisco Junior College 2016
Dawson Abernethy Weatherford JC 2017
Dylan Antonelli Tarleton State University 2017
Eric Jones Weatherford JC 2017
Brandon Messer Northern Oklahoma JC 2017
Lance Russell Howard JC 2017
Syler Shepherd Weatherford JC 2017
Jean Ortiz New Mexico JC 2017
Ryan Johnston Navarro Junior College 2017
Cade Thomas Cisco Junior College 2017

Collegiate Honors

Name Honor College
Kyle Johnston 2016 California Collegiate League Most Outstanding Pitcher University of Texas
BJ Myers 2016 Co-Pitcher of the Year Harwich Mariners West Virginia University
Kyle Johnston 2016 California Collegiate League All Star Team University of Texas
Connor Wanhanen 2015 Big 12 Freshman of the Year Texas Christian University
Carver Rademacher 2014 Great American Conference Tournament MVP Southern Arkansas
Tant Shepherd 2009 National Runner Up NCAA World Series University of Texas
Zach Neal 2009 NJCAA National Champions JC D1 Howard Junior College
Nick Popescu 2009 NJCAA National Champions JC D1 Howard Junior College